About GPLT

Our Vision
To help people understand why habitat matters by inspiring them to reconnect with the land and nature.
Our Mission
Our focus is to ensure that green and open space in northern Georgia provide the ecological benefits essential for healthy communities and a high quality of life for their citizens by: Permanently preserving land in the northern regions of Georgia to protect the quality of our waters and woodlands; Complementing the conservation efforts of cities and citizens; and Saving farmland and historic sites for communities to enjoy now and for generations to come.
Our History
The Georgia Piedmont Land Trust (GPLT) was formed in 1998 as the Gwinnett Open Land Trust (GOLT) by a group of concerned citizens in response to the rapid development occurring in Gwinnett County. These Gwinnett residents rallied to the demand for protecting greenspace and saving trees.
Our Work

From the start, as GPLT gained a reputation for conservation land protection, land owners from outside Gwinnett County requested GPLT to protect their lands as well. This resulted in our name change and an expanded service area. Today GPLT has over 2,000 acres of land under protection located in Bibb, Catoosa, Cobb, Coweta, DeKalb, Gwinnett, Hall, Rockdale, Upson, Walton and Whitfield Counties.

GPLT has a diverse portfolio of protected properties to include Civil War battlefields in partnership with the Civil War Trust and the American Battlefields Protection Program, a green cemetery in partnership with the Monastery of the Holy Spirit, watershed restoration properties, conservation subdivision greenspaces, granite outcrops, habitats with threatened species and a community garden in partnership with citizens like you who care about green and open spaces in their communities.

Service Area
Georgia’s second-largest geographic region is the Piedmont, home to the largest portion of the state’s population. Together with the mountainous regions of north Georgia, this hilly region comprises roughly half the state and constitutes our present service area. Counties located in our service area include: Baldwin, Banks, Barrow, Bartow, Bibb, Butts, Carroll, Catoosa, Chattooga, Cherokee, Clarke, Clayton, Cobb, Columbia, Coweta, Dade, Dawson, DeKalb, Douglas, Elbert, Fannin, Fayette, Floyd, Forsyth, Franklin, Fulton, Gilmer, Gordon, Greene, Gwinnett, Habersham, Hall, Hancock, Haralson, Harris, Hart, Heard, Henry, Jackson, Jasper, Jones, Lamar, Lincoln, Lumpkin, Madison, McDuffie, Meriwether, Monroe, Morgan, Murray, Muscogee, Newton, Oconee, Oglethorpe, Paulding, Pickens, Pike, Polk, Putnam, Rabun, Rockdale, Spalding, Stephens, Talbot, Taliaferro, Towns, Troup, Union, Upson, Walker, Walton, Warren, Wilkes, White, Whitfield.
In 2015 GPLT completed a rigorous 2 year process to achieve national accreditation.

The land trust accreditation seal is a mark of distinction in land conservation. Accredited land trusts meet national quality standards, uphold the public trust and ensure that conservation efforts are permanent. Accredited land trusts have demonstrated their commitment to national quality standards for nonprofit management and land conservation.

The accreditation seal provides an assurance of quality and permanence the public can trust. The accreditation program verifies that the land trust has systems in place to keep its promise of permanent land protection.